An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Immediate Release

Department of Defense Announces 2022 Class of Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship

The DoD announced today the selection of nine distinguished faculty scientists and engineers for the 2022 Class of Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellows (VBFF). This highly competitive Fellowship is named in honor of Dr. Vannevar Bush, who directed the Office of Scientific Research and Development after World War II. In line with Dr. Bush’s vision, the Fellowship aims to advance transformative, university-based fundamental research.

“The Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship is the Department’s most prestigious research grant award,” said Dr. Jean-Luc Cambier, the VBFF Program Director. “It is oriented towards bold and ambitious ‘blue sky’ research that will lead to extraordinary outcomes that may revolutionize entire disciplines, create entirely new fields, or disrupt accepted theories and perspectives.”

The 2022 Class will join a cadre of approximately 50 current Fellows who conduct basic research in areas of importance to the DoD, including materials science, cognitive neuroscience, quantum information sciences, and applied mathematics, among other disciplines. In addition to their research projects, Fellows can also engage directly with the DoD enterprise to collaborate with DoD laboratories and share insights with DoD leadership and the broader national security community.

The Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship is sponsored by the Basic Research Office within the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering. The grants are managed by the Office of Naval Research. For the FY 2022 competition, more than 300 white papers were received. Each Fellow will receive up to $3 million over the five-year fellowship term to pursue cutting-edge fundamental research projects. More information about the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship is available on the Basic Research Office website:

The 2022 Class of Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellows:

Name Institution Research Topic
George Karniadakis Brown University The Next Generation of Operator Regression Networks: Theory, Algorithms, Applications
Andrew Stuart California Institute of Technology Data-Driven Acceleration and Discovery of Computational Models
Mark Schnitzer Stanford University Dissecting the Neural Circuit Basis for Volition: A New Framework for Brain-Machine Interface
Neal Devaraj University of California, San Diego Engineering Dynamic Lipid Compartments for an Artificial Cell
Jun Ye University of Colorado Quantum System Scaling and Advantage for Fundamental and Applied Science
Jelena Vuckovic Stanford University Scalable Generation and Control of Large Quantum States of Light and Matter in Engineered Semiconductor Materials
Christian van de Walle University of California, Santa Barbara Controlling Recombination in Wide- Bandgap Materials
Kunihiko Taira University of California, Los Angeles Extreme Aerodynamics: Grasping the Unknown Skies
Sharon Glotzer University of Michigan On the Nature of the Entropic Bond

About USD(R&E) 

The Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering (USD(R&E) is the Chief Technology Officer of the Department of Defense. The USD(R&E) champions research, science, technology, engineering, and innovation to maintain the United States military’s technological advantage. Learn more at, follow us on Twitter @DoDCTO, or visit us on LinkedIn at