An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Immediate Release

DoD Announces Appointments to the Defense Advisory Committee for the Prevention of Sexual Misconduct

Secretary of Defense Lloyd J. Austin III has appointed 14 members to the Defense Advisory Committee for the Prevention of Sexual Misconduct.  Members were sworn-in ahead of the DAC-PSM’s first public meeting held on August 22, 2022.  

The DAC-PSM is composed of leaders in their field appointed by the Secretary of Defense to provide independent advice and recommendations on the prevention of sexual misconduct involving members of the Armed Forces and the Coast Guard as well as at their respective military academies. 

The DAC-PSM’s diverse membership reflects a variety of expertise related to the Committee’s mission.  Members have expertise in prevention of sexual assault and behaviors on the sexual assault continuum of harm; adverse behaviors, including the prevention of suicide and the prevention of substance abuse; change of culture of large organizations; and implementation science.

Appointed Committee members include: 

  • Dr. Antonia D. Abbey, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Victoria L. Banyard, Ph.D. 
  • Dr. Dorothy J. Edwards, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Armando X. Estrada, Ph.D.
  • Ms. Stephanie A. Gattas
  • The Honorable Gina M. Grosso (DAC-PSM Chair)
  • Dr. Debra E. Houry, M.D.
  • Dr. Lindsay M. Orchowski, Ph.D.
  • Dr. John B. Pryor, Ph.D.
  • Ms. S. Lynn Rosenthal
  • Dr. Joann Wu Shortt, PhD.
  • Ms. Jennifer M. Silva
  • Dr. Amy M. Smith Slep, Ph.D.
  • Ms. Glorina Y. Stallworth

To learn more about DAC-PSM, visit