An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Immediate Release

DoD Announces 2022 Phoenix Award Winner

The Department of Defense announced today the 2022 winner of the Phoenix Award for Maintenance Excellence at this year's Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards ceremony held in conjunction with the annual DoD Maintenance Symposium in Orlando, Florida. The Phoenix Award is presented annually to the best field-level maintenance unit in the Department of Defense.

This year's Phoenix Award was presented to Strike Fighter Squadron ONE FOUR SEVEN (VFA-147), Naval Air Station Lemoore, California.  From remarks given at the award ceremony:

"VFA 147 is the first operational F-35C Lightning II squadron.  Everything that occurred in the competitive performance period was a true 'FIRST' for Naval Aviation.  The squadron proved the aircraft is sustainable and lethal at sea, executing 1,837 sorties, totaling 3,033 flight hours, with a 94% sortie completion rate during the first F-35C Fleet Response Training Plan and first operational deployment to the Western Pacific.  Their unmatched dedication to quality, outstanding commitment to sound and innovative maintenance practices, and meticulous management of resources enabled the squadron to safely complete 16,758 maintenance actions while integrating the service's most lethal combat aircraft into the fleet."

Annual Phoenix Award winners rise from among the top field-level maintenance units of the year, who were announced in September.  This year's small category winners were VFA-147; and Exercise Support Division, Marine Corps Air Ground Task Force Training Command, Twentynine Palms, California.  Winners from the medium category included USS WINSTON S. CHURCHILL, Naval Station Mayport, Florida; and 48th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Royal Air Force Lakenheath, United Kingdom.  Large category winners were 2nd Battalion (Assault), 2nd Aviation Regiment, K16 Airbase, South Korea; and Trident Refit Facility, Kings Bay, Georgia.

Five people stand for a photo while holding a certificate on a stage.
Award Moment
From left: Assistant Secretary of Defense for Sustainment HON Chris Lowman; VFA-147 representatives Commander Jason Divito, USN, Master Chief Jason B. Ferrell, USN, and Lieutenant JG Oliver R. Williamson, USN; and VADM Ricky Williamson, USN, the senior Navy military member present at the awards ceremony, pose with the field-level maintenance award certificate.
Photo By: Adam Isovitsch
VIRIN: 221215-D-D0439-101

During Thursday's ceremony, outstanding military maintenance units also received awards for Sustainment Training, Advice, and Assistance of Foreign Military Forces; the Robert T. Mason Award for Depot Maintenance Excellence; and the Rear Admiral Grace M. Hopper Award for Software Maintenance Excellence.

Read about the achievements of all the 2022 Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards winners, here:

Learn more about the Maintenance Symposium at