An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Immediate Release

Acting Under Secretary of Defense for Policy Ms. Amanda Dory Announces Space Policy Leadership Transition

As we continue to strengthen our nation's alliances and partnerships in the space domain, the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy expresses profound appreciation for Dr. John Plumb's exemplary service as the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Space Policy.

From March 2022 to May 2024, Dr. Plumb effectively and skillfully managed the Department's strategic capabilities for integrated deterrence: space, nuclear weapons, missile defense, and countering weapons of mass destruction. Dr. Plumb also oversaw the cyber policy portfolio and served as the Principal Cyber Advisor to the Secretary of Defense until March 2024.

As the first assistant secretary of defense for space policy, his tenure shaped the Department's approach to space warfighting and established trust and confidence with defense and military partners across the globe.

We thank Dr. Plumb for his exceptional public service and his lasting contributions to the Department of Defense, including his work on easing classifications on space programs, his successful implementation of the commercial space integration policy, the expansion of partnerships through the Combined Space Operations Initiative Principals Board, his overall work on space security, and his direction in the other aspects of his policy portfolio.  We wish him continued success as he departs the Department.

We also express appreciation to Dr. Vipin Narang, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Space Policy, who will serve as Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for Space Policy as of Monday, May 20.