An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Independent Review Commission on Sexual Assault in the Military

At the direction of President Biden, Secretary of Defense Lloyd J. Austin III ordered a 90-Day Independent Review Commission (IRC) on Sexual Assault in the Military to take bold action to address sexual assault and harassment in the force. The IRC made recommendations related to: accountability; prevention; climate and culture; and victim care and support.

IRC Updates

Meet the IRC

The Independent Review Commission (IRC) will focus on four priority areas including: accountability; prevention; climate and culture; and victim care and support. Meet the experts who will be leading each of these efforts.

Lynn Rosenthal

Lynn Rosenthal is the president of The Center for Family Safety and Healing, which takes an integrated team approach to breaking the cycle of family violence and child abuse... Full Profile

Cindy Dyer

Cindy Dyer is a nationally recognized expert on violence against women. She recently served as vice president for human rights at Vital Voices, an international nongovernmental organization dedicated to advancing the rights of women and girls globally... Full Profile

James Schwenk

Retired Brig. Gen. James Schwenk was commissioned as an infantry officer in the Marine Corps in 1970. He attended law school at the Washington College of Law, American University... Full Profile

Meghan Tokash

Meghan Tokash is an assistant U.S. attorney at the Department of Justice serving the Western District of New York as the supervisor of the district’s Special Victim Unit... Full Profile

Debra Houry

Dr. Debra Houry is the director of the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention... Full Profile

Neil Irvin

Neil Irvin is the executive director of Men Can Stop Rape, an internationally recognized organization that mobilizes men to use their strength for creating cultures free from violence... Full Profile

James Johnson

Retired Air Force Maj. Gen. James Johnson presently serves as governance chairman for The Flag and General Officers’ Network, a not-for-profit veterans corporation... Full Profile

Bridgette Bell

Army Lt. Col. Bridgette Bell graduated from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York, in the Class of 2004... Full Profile

Kris Fuhr

Kris Fuhr is a 1985 graduate of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.... Full Profile

Dr. Kyleanne Hunter

Dr. Kyleanne Hunter is an assistant professor of military and strategic studies... Full Profile

Indira Henard

Indira Henard is the executive director of the DC Rape Crisis Center, which is the oldest rape crisis center in the country... Full Profile

Kris Rose

Kristina "Kris" Rose has more than 35 years of experience working on crime victimization and criminal justice issues in government, nonprofit and corporate environments... Full Profile

Kayla Williams

Kayla Williams is the assistant secretary, Office of Public and Intergovernmental Affairs at the Department of Veterans Affairs... Full Profile

Get Help. Share Your Story.

Available to the DOD community, the Safe Helpline provides anonymous, confidential access to one-on-one support, peer-to-peer support, information, resources and self-care exercises 24/7 to aid in survivor recovery.

Visit site